Dunas News & Blog
Destinations / Hotels
Arrival / Departure
Children's ages
Room 1
Add room
StartNewsMunicipalities of Gran Canaria

Municipalities of Gran Canaria

10 Nov 2016

Gran Canaria is one of the seven main islands that form the Canary Islands Archipelago, and its capital is the most populated of them. It has an area of ​​1,560 square kilometres, divided into municipalities as a means of administrative and territorial division. These municipalities group different localities, towns or villages.

The government of the island is the Island’ Council and is the administrative board of the Canary Islands Archipelago.

The island’s territory is divided into 21 municipalities, each of them consists of different neighbourhoods or districts. In order to have a clearer visualization of the map of the island it is best to divide it between north, centre and south. Although there are obviously municipalities that are strictly in the east or the west, this is a good way to look at it.

North Area of Gran Canaria

The northern part of the island, where the capital of Gran Canaria is, has much vegetation, vast banana plantations, rugged coastline and rough sea; and above all, it is where businesses and the political and administrative activity of the island happens. Within this area, some of the municipalities are very different from the next. In the same way there are places where native flora has been restored, others are basically the centre of the island’s social activity. Most of the population of the island is in this area, with towns and cities such as: Agaete, Arucas, Firgas, Gáldar, Moya, Santa María de Guía, Teror, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

All these towns and villages are very charming places to visit and to discover the island’s native families way of life. Their main income comes from trading, fishing or agriculture. In this area there are places such as: La Playa de Las Canteras, Puerto de las Nieves, Los Tilos de Moya or the Barranco de Guayedra.

Central Area of Gran Canaria

The central area of ​​the island is where the old history of Gran Canaria is. Its landscapes, geological formations, flora and trails, make this area one of the most attractive ones of the island. Here, most of its population make a living from agriculture, and many also commute on a daily basis to their posts in the capital. Its climate is the coolest of the island, so it is ideal for long walks along its trails and picnic days in different spaces prepared for them. Tourists visiting these towns do so because they want to discover different facets of the island; here is not about beaches and tourism but feeling the life of the natives. This area is recommended for those who choose to spend time in the mountain rather than on the beach.

Towns around this area are: Valleseco, Vega de San Mateo, Tejeda, Santa Brigida, Artenara, La Aldea de San Nicolás.

South Area of Gran Canaria

The south of the island is the tourist area. Here is where most accommodations, hotels and resorts of Gran Canaria can be found, as well as its numerous spectacular beaches. The white sanded Dunes of Maspalomas, are very family orientated and closed to our hotels. It is probably foreigners’ best well-known area, since many choose to stay here; and from the South explore the rest of the island. It is the ideal place to spend a few days with the family, whether to rest or to enjoy the wide range of leisure attractions there are by the sea.

Towns around this area are: Telde, Valsequillo, St. Lucia de Tirajana, Agüimes, Ingenio, Mogán, San Bartolome de Tirajana.
Photos: grancanaria.com